About Us

The Australian Climbing Association (ACA) was established in Queensland in 2007 and the Victorian branch (ACAV) established in April 2019 and incorporated in June 2019. The first Committee was elected at the inaugural Annual General Meeting held on 11 July 2019.

In response to sweeping climbing bans, the ACAV was created in recognition that there was no existing association or club that had the remit and purpose to negotiate and liaise with land managers regarding rock climbing access issues. It was recognized that land managers, including Parks Victoria, would have difficulty identifying a single point of contact to adequately consult with regarding access matters that would impact the climbing community. It was in this context that the Victorian branch of the ACA was established.

The ACAV currently has 358 members and represents the interests of the Victorian climbing community at a legal and political level, and aims to promote and protect access to rock climbing in Victoria while being respectful of the unique cultural and environmental values of areas where rock climbing takes place.

For more information on what the ACAV does, please visit the FAQ section of our website.


  • Mike Tomkins – President
  • Kuba Szczepanik – Secretary
  • Vanessa Tocatjian
  • Simon Carter
  • Michael Hampton

(You can contact the Committee from our Contact Us page)